ISO 22301

ISO 22301

1. General Requirements


Certification scheme of ISO 22301 auditor is available without restriction to all individuals worldwide who satisfy the certification requirements.


To have credibility accredited certification needs competent auditors. The purpose of GPC Business Continuity Management Systems BCMS Auditor Certification Program is to provide confidence to accredited certification and to business and industry that auditors certified to this program are competent. As part of the certification process GPC will evaluate applicants against requirements which reflect the key skills, knowledge and experience that define competence and which you, the BCMS auditor, need to have and demonstrate during an audit. BCMS auditor program is based on the following standard:



ISO 22301:2019, Business Continuity Management Systems –

Requirements and the auditing guidance standard:

ISO 19011:2018, Guidelines for auditing management systems




3. Business Continuity Management System Auditor Requirements


1) Basic Requirements



* The requirements of training certificate are as followings:

• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course from GPC approved, which meet the procedure of training provider.
• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course provider by ISO/IEC 17024 accredited as a personnel certification body.
• Certificate of successful completion of applied management system lead auditor training course from training institution approved personnel certification body as based on ISO/IEC 17024.



4. Examination


1) About the exam


The exam consists of two types of written exams, Knowledge exam and Attribution test.


The exam is performed at a place that GPC evaluated and finally approved in advance. (it will be notified prior to the exam).


The applicants should be arrived at the examination site at least 10 minutes before the start and if late or absent, 0 score is automatically given.


Any ID card with picture on it for the identification of the candidate has to be presented, and any prohibited items at the examination site have to be left with the invigilator before the star of the exam.


If cheating is detected, the invigilator will ask the candidate to leave immediately and no more exam is allowed.


Please see the exam notification for the details about the examination location and contact information.


2) Knowledge exam


This exam questions were set up based on ISO 22301:2019 standard and the purpose of the exam is to evaluate the qualifications and competence of the candidate who wants to conduct audit activity by the standard the candidate is applying for.


The knowledge exam has a total of 100 questions and consists of 4 sections divided.


1 point for 1 correct answer and the pass criteria is as follows.


  • Section I (ISO 22301:2019): more than 20 points out of 50 points.
  • Section II (ISO 19011:2018): more than 12 points out of 30 points.
  • Section III (Standard Specific Questions): more than 4 points out of 10 points.
  • Section IV (Case Study): more than 4 points out of 10 points.
  • Total: more than 70 points out of 100 points.

* Even if the total points are more than 70 points, the applicant cannot pass the exam without meeting the minimum points required for each section.



Time limitation is only 120 minutes for the examination and it is open-book(Received Hard copied standard from GPC) condition.


If one is failed in the exam, candidate is given one more chance of examination. If candidate fails to the consecutive examination, the candidate has to wait another year to take examination.



3) Attribution test


The purpose of the attribution test is to evaluate the characteristics and the qualification as an auditor and it asks how much the application understandable agree with the questions.


It is based on ISO 19011:2018 and consists of 25 questions only. The candidate should choose the answer that comes to mind first.


Up to 4 points are given for each question and as the answer is further from the correct answer, 1 point each is deducted. (0 point for no answer)


The pass criterion is 70 points


If one is failed in the test, another chance of re-examination(written test) is given. If candidate fails to the attribution re-examination, candidate has to wait another year to take an test.